PGP Logo   Header Image  
username:
password:
 
 
News
Toys
Video Games
Movies
Reviews
Features
Articles
Media
Links
About
Contact
 
Peter Cullen
 
Search Archives

 
Archives
June 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
September 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
May 2008
April 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008
December 2007
November 2007
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
March 2007
February 2007
January 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
April 2006
March 2006
February 2006
April 2001
 
Toughest Man in the World
 
Featured Links
tinyTypewriter
16bit.com
Cool Toy Review
Toplessrobot.com
Final Girl
Fans of Pheyden
Retro Treasures
 
 
Nanowrimo
download novel
 
 

Preserve Movie Review

Uzumaki
 
<-- Return to main Movie page.
 
Movie Title: Uzumaki
Movie Rating: 3.5 / 5
Runtime: 90 minutes
Release Year: 2000
 
Movie Review:

(Reviewed as part of Final Girl's February film club!)

Uzumaki comes to us as the live action adaptation of the horror manga of the same name by Junji Ito. His unlikely premise of a small town being infiltrated and turned on end by spirals (not to give too much away) comes across as a fresh, if hard to fully grasp, concept - allowing for an exploration of the effect this visual phenomenon can wreak on a human mind.

We are introduced to main character Kirie (Eriko Hatsune) who is appropriately sweet and innocent, paling around with her lifelong and very uptight friend Shuichi (Fhi Fan) little suspecting that her world is about to crazy go nuts.

Uzumaki - Kirie


The glimpse we get into her life includes tandem bike rides with Shuichi from the town's ultra creepy tunnel, being accosted by would-be boyfriend Yamaguchi (Sadao Abe) who is fond of surprising her in the alley on the way home (with a real big surprise later!), trips to the local green grocer/melon gifter, and a pleasant home life with her sculptor dad Yasuo (Tarô Suwa) who has definitely leapt right off the pages of a manga.

Uzumaki - Yasuo Goshima


Things start to go wrong when Shuichi's dad Toshio (Ren Ôsugi) gets a little too interested in all things Spiral, collecting the shape from all over town and making his own private funhouse in the attic - no you can't borrow my barber shop sign!

Uzumaki - Toshio


Things come to an ugly head with his obsession, but who knows, maybe that spin cycle was a good way to go? I guess we'll never know, unless we can talk to a mile wide cloud of living ash that begins to hover above the town in, you guessed it, a mighty spiral. Things look grim when the Toshio cloud dunks into the local pond, getting right into every glass of water those poor townsfolk drink, and it pretty much goes right under the tires from then on out - so to speak.

Uzumaki - teacher


Yeah, he's right to be concerned, I would be too! Shuichi keeps correctly saying that they need to get the hell outta Dodge, but sadly as I'm sure we all assumed that just isn't in the cards, because evil isn't that easy to escape! I had a brief moment of excitement when the random gym scene of the girl's gymnastics team cropped up, hoping that they were going to go all Gymkata on the Spirals but it was not to be so! At least it allowed for another of the semi-frequent fourth-wall breeches that took place in this film...always fun.

Uzumaki - 4th wall


An awesome detective dude shows up and tries to lend a hand, complete with a research-montage which was wonderfully nerdy, and a reporter from the bigger town next door tries to cover all the strange goings-on...when will these folks learn that the cursed towns are best avoided?

The color pallet is overall very dark and green, sort of heavy and dirty as you can see by a quick glance at the pictures below. The temporary breaks from this scheme feel all the more jarring (and refreshing) and we know we're back in the thick of things when the colors get grim again. There's a decent amount of gore for the hounds, at least a few scenes, which I neglected to picture below by way of not spoiling it. Fun little animated spirals are inserted frequently and are like little easter eggs to find on repeat viewings - I'm sure I've found barely any of them so far. Oh, and the awesome melon.

Uzumaki - melon!


For an unusual viewing experience with in-your-face camera work and a variety of cool music (thanks Hitoshi Tsurumaki!) you could do worse than Uzumaki. From the snail on the dvd menu I thought that they might play more of a pivotal role in the goings-on which would have been a bit of a What Is It? flashback for me but they turn out to be minor players. At least, in the final analysis, we got some awesome hair out of the deal!

Uzumaki - hair!


-- Charlie (2/26/2010)

 
Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki Uzumaki
Uzumaki

 
 
Featured Toy Lines

Bill & Ted's Excellent Adventure

Air Raiders

GI Joe: 30 for 30

Transformers: Prime - Beast Hunters (2013)

Masters of the Universe Classics

Batman: The Brave and the Bold

Nasta Reactors

DC Universe Classics

Indiana Jones by Hasbro

New Additions
TurboGrafx 16 - Lord of The Sword
Lord of The Sword
for SMS
 
GoBots - Royal-T
Egon
w/ Symmetrical Book Stacking

Conventions

Toy Fair 2014 

Toy Fair 2013 

Toy Fair 2012 

Toy Fair 2011 

Toy Fair 2010 

Toy Fair 2009 

Toy Fair 2008 

New York Comic Con 2008 

San Diego Comic Con 2008 

 
© 2009 ParryGamePreserve